top of page
Search

Learning how to Blockout a Level with BSP Brushes

After struggling with the self-made Maya Blocks, I went back to the tutorial Mika had found several weeks ago, and found a link to a video tutorial on BSP brushes--a tool within Unreal that creates simple objects that you can combine to make general blockouts.


I spent sometime learning the ins and outs of the BSP brushes before I decided to use them in the scene itself. It made the blockout go so much faster than before. I did not need to worry about organization or simple textures; the BSP brushes handled that for me.


However, it was still not fast or efficient enough. I still had to layout an entire forest by hand, which was not optimal for a Prototype pass. I Then learned how to Export the BSP brushes as static meshes, which would allow me to use them as a foliage brush. The foliage tool acts as a paintbrush and will layout the tree blocks I place in them such as mash does in Maya. but I have more control over where they lay. The issue with this, however, is that the pivot points were in the center of the object, and that was where the foliage paint would place the object on the map.




This is the BSP brush menu in Unreal. To create the trees, I simply placed a cone on top of a cylinder.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page